The Residences of Bexley Woods: The Wrap Up

It’s time to close some of the chapters here on this blog. I’m happy to say that as of June 1st, I found myself free of the Residences at Bexley Woods. Sure, I had to go through mires and didn’t get to sign a walk-out form despite numerous attempts, but hell, I was free so what did I care?

I emailed, called, and double-checked that everything would be fine. “Please get back to me on the final amount owed” I asked. “We will keep everything on file” I was assured. Of course, that’s not what happened at all, and it’s pretty obvious that they thought they were dealing with someone who wanted to be taken for a 3,000 ride. When I got the bill about ten days after I moved out I was livid. I called and spoke with a gentleman whose name I have but won’t post. I faxed him OVER 20 PAGES of documents about my living situation. I verified that the documents were received. I left a message for the manager.

The following week I left another message.

The week after I finally spoke with someone on the phone. Apparently they had a staffing issue and hadn’t gotten to my documents yet. They assured me that everything would be handled and I’d get the final amount owed (Around 200 bucks) handled.

I heard nothing.

Then I got a collections letter. I called to speak with them, they were incredibly rude, but that’s how collectors make their money. Of course they didn’t believe me that I only owed a little over 200 on an almost 3k bill. I wouldn’t have believed me either. Regardless they called me –EVERY DAY– While I waited for the Residences at Bexley Woods to handle their business.

Days later they finally made contact and lowered the bill to the agreed sum. At that point they were still calling me daily and chomping at the bit for their money. They also REFUSED TO SEND A FINAL BILL TO ME. I had to point blank tell them that until I got something in writing they wouldn’t get paid.

That got them to send me a PDF via email that I have safe and sound in about four different storage locations. I paid them off and now, finally, I think I’m done with it. If you followed me till the end, I have some notes that I can share with you:

  1. From the sounds of things the new management company is doing better. In the end, they did do right by me. They took over a war zone, I do understand that.
  2. However, you should document EVERYTHING when you move to a new place. Keep lines of communication open. Trust no one.
  3. If they only did the things that they charged me for (Things that were bad when I moved in), then my place is still a dump that no one should live in.

But you know what? I’m free and my new place is beautiful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Life, TownHouse

Leave a Reply

