Oh the House

Apparently the house has another offer on it from the showings that were set up yesterday. I’m floored about that. It means that I can’t stay in the house as long as I otherwise would have, but there’s nothing wrong with that reality. This whole short sale process has been strange, to say the least. I’ve come out of it much wiser and when I purchase my next home, I’m going to be much more careful than I was this time. I know what to look for, and I know what to ask for. Hindsight is 20/20, they say. 

Thing one I would advise on is make sure you know what you’re paying every month exactly. Don’t just take the ‘price’ given as what your total will be. Make sure to ask about property taxes, inclusion of fees, if there’s a home owner’s association, and most importantly, if there’s anything else that the company can throw in. I was naive and trusting of banks when I got this house. I don’t think anyone is like that anymore.

Still waiting on the final paperwork from the lawyer. This is going to end up with me getting some spousal support until the QDRO is taken care of. I really hate how long this takes. I felt ultra emotional today, oddly enough. I don’t know why I spent it in the state that I did. I’m doing such a good job at work, and this is just happening at it’s own pace. I’ve never been good at waiting, is the problem. Particularly waiting on things that I feel are urgent. I rarely feel like anything really is urgent.

My ex has moved most of his stuff about and out. I suppose I should do the same this weekend.

1 Comment

Filed under Divorce

One response to “Oh the House

  1. Waiting sucks a lot. Good luck with the packing, though. I hope moving up the sale date’s not going to put too big a crimp in your style?

Leave a Reply

